Does Love Have a Number?

Back in the old days girls married at age 14 to older men.  Through the decades the age number increased till the idea was of dating a man 5 years older is looked upon as wrong.  It is wrong these days for a 30 year old man to run around with woman of age 14 in this time and age due to the lack of morality in some older generations. What happens though if you meet a great guy at the age of 18 but is 10 years older? but is it ok when they hit the age of 18? 

 I am currently dating a man 10 years older than me. We met at my old job and ever since then we have been dating. Its been a year and a half and we are still in love; if not more than ever. It is not common to see someone dissaprove of us being together when they have not met my boyfriend. Just the age difference alone shows how wrong it is. The common arguments are… “He’s only seeking one thing from you and its not being with you.” “He is too old, you should be with someone your age.” and etc.

Problem is with that last arguement is that every guy I meet at my age isn’t what I am looking for. I want to fall in love and be in that relationship. I no longer want to explore a bunch of bad relationships when I can have one great one full of love.  Every guy I have dated in the past has been has used, cheated, or is just plain immature. I then met my boyfriend and he was like this perfect guy I have dreamt about as a little girl to one day marry a man like him.  My boyfriend is gentle, listens and cares on what I have to say, is romantic, says all the right things, and is really really handsome. Too perfect to be true? Well, it is! Of course theres some blemishes here in there but I have them too. He isnt perfect but he is damn close to it. I have given him my heart and he has taken damn good care of it. Everytime I need him to be there for me when I am at a dark corner he is there to shine the light. He is the one who fell in love with me first, took me a while to trust myself and him enough to fall in love.

This girl commented my boyfriend’s blog out of the blue and insulted him becuase of the relationship he had with me. She was rude enough to call him names without even knowing who he was. She said our relationship was wrong becuase I was so young for him. How can love be wrong. Its not like I am underage. I am well aware of who I am dating and what desicions I make. My parents dont have a problem with it and so why should anyone else? He loves me and I love him….is that so bad?

It is ok in our society to accept relationships with celebeties or older people. Demi Moore married Ashton Kutcher….bigger age difference then my relationship. Older men celeberties date younger women all the time and you know what? Non celeberty men do it all the time. I am not a child, I am 19 years old and i love a man 10 years older than me. He is the best gift God has given me and I will not let some person’s comments break us apart. When it all comes down to it in the end, its me and him. We are ok with each other and that is what counts. Plus I have never been this happy. Therefore, anyone that chooses to disrupt our relationship….I think should get a life and try to establish their own joy and happiness instead of trying to destroy the happiness of others becuase in my relationship….our love doesn’t have a number.

img_1051.jpg

15 Responses to Does Love Have a Number?

  1. jennypruna says:

    My Boyfriend and I 🙂

  2. Zandria says:

    You’re right, Jenny — love does NOT have a number, and the only thing that matters is that you two are happy. Go for it! 🙂

  3. wonderspot says:

    Great post…my boyfriend and I have twice the age difference you do. And really? It doesn’t matter. In some cases it might, but you sound happy, so I wouldn’t let anyone else judge your state of mind (or relationship).

  4. azlanisma says:

    ya. does love have a number? of course not! the best thing is love each other and you will find the calmness for it.

  5. chencenter says:

    I can’t believe I haven’t commented on this yet! I love the title of the blog… very catchy and “attention grabbing.” but most of all i love that it’s about me. how self-centered do i sound? okay. I’m going to leave it as “I love it” and moreso, I love you!

  6. Chris says:

    great post… totally agree… i’m 28, btw, and from my point of view it doesn’t and true friends will understand that… what’s that image say that i see on myspace all the time?
    it goes
    something like this
    Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.

  7. daisybug says:

    Jenny – Love is never wrong. Do not worry about what others say about you and Michael. Judge only by your own heart.

    There is a saying, BTW… “Better to be an old man’s sweetheart than a young man’s slave” Yeah – it is outdated, I know – and at 41 I am HARDLY meaning to insinuate that Michael is old, LOL. Rather, the point is that sometimes it takes a man of more experience to cherish you and appreciate your true spirit. If you have found that – then you need to do anything you can to keep it…

    Peace…

  8. jennypruna says:

    Well im glad im not the only person that thinks this! Thanks for your comments!

  9. Michelle says:

    Life is definitely too short to waste on dating the wrong guys just based on what other people think you should be paired with.

    I have had a healthy 3 year relationship with someone 18 years older than me and he’s my trophy boyfriend because my heart says so.

    You’re the one in a relationship with your man, so it’s really nobody’s business who you are in love with.

  10. CaliGirl says:

    Great post- thank you for this. I am currently dating someone who is 20 years my senior…. at first I was hesitant in my attraction for him, as he know he was with me, but everyday proves to be more and more rewarding.

    Thank you!

  11. […] blogger Jenny Pruna asks, “Does Love Have a Number?” I am currently dating a man 10 years older than me. We met at […]

  12. Joe says:

    I think it’s awesome. 10 years is nothing!

  13. Jennifer says:

    :)Right now I am going through exactly what you went through! I am 15 years old and my boyfriend is 27. He is the gentlest, kindest, most caring person I have ever met in my life. I wish I could write more…but I am quite tired. Your post has given me hope and has made my day brighter all the same 🙂

    cheers!

  14. sniff says:

    There is nothing wrong with dating older guys. Most will treat you with respect that you deserve and want. The only problem is that older guys are old fashion and maybe to scared to appouch younger women in bars, like I am. Younger guys just dont understand how lucky they are to have a caring women

  15. updatetoo says:

    Very interesting post I enjoy your website keep up the amazing posts.

Leave a Reply

