Writing Distractions

So my new years resolution is to continuously blog and write everyday. Kind of had a shaky start considering January 1st was several days ago… but here we go! I noticed that I am really easily distracted. My iphone, shopping, and watching television have grabbed my attention instead of sitting down with this cute Dell laptop and writing this Christmas Break. This Christmas, I got to spend a month in Florida. Boutiques, malls, department stores with crashing new sales, my iphone and spending time with family have distracted me tremendously. I am not blaming the cool technology nor the location, but lets just say it doesn’t help.

Last Christmas was spent in Nashville, TN. There wasn’t much to do and not enough cash in our pockets, so my mother and I sat and read most of our days at home. Read, Read, Read…Which I loved. I thought this vacation I would be about the same even though our wallets have stretched and  still on budget; but I was wrong. Everyday, my mother and I have visited tons of stores  and my rents have taken me to Orlando and to the beach on the weekends. We still have not fully covered our territory here in Tampa. We have vowed to not go out anymore until I leave Saturday to North Carolina. So I should be able to start the habit of writing that will help me complete my resolution.

What is it about technology that attracts us. Is it the invincible feeling of being able to do more than you thought you could with a phone?  Phones are only getting more and more advanced. Every time I visit my family, they are hooked on the newest gadget which leads me to getting caught up in the technology frenzy. Away from them, I am able to resist because I would have convinced myself that I didn’t need it and didn’t want to become another goof that craved the latest gadget that can make me fly or see through walls. lol

The iphone specifically has mesmerized me. Being able to touch the screen and be on facebook is awesome! I love it. Just feeling the soft flat screen as I command it to my will is intriguing in of itself. lol My older phone was a Blackjack one that I have had since Senior Year of high school. I love that phone but the Iphone is my new toy. But dont worry blackjack, you’ll always be my baby! lol

One Response to Writing Distractions

  1. joycereview says:

    Yes. It’s soo funny how technology produces stuff for benefit of “necessity”, speed, time-management, and to make tasks more organized and quicker… however, it is the opposite effect…. we actually waste more time on them then what is needed. If we, instead, said, “I allow myself only 15min of facebook, 15-30min of email/correspondence and the rest I’ll devote to the actual task i need to accomplish, we’d be 10-20 times more productive. Remember what Tony Robbins said… if you say you’ll do something it’s a plan, if you write it down you’re bound to carry it out… there’s action in it. We should start the day with making our list of tasks. i’m gonna start doing that for 2010.

Leave a Reply

